REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING September 20, 2023

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on September 20, 2023 in the conference room at the high school at 7:00PM. Board members present: Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Greg Larson, Staci Allmaras, Molly Welch, and Brenda Olson.

Board Members Absent: None

Student Representatives present: Eduardo Sanchez and Ellie Welch

Student Representatives absent: None

Others Present: Brian Korf, Rudy Martinez, Emily Evenson, Cary Haugrud, PJ Breen, Mallory Jarvi, Cody Shaffer, Marni

Neubauer, and Jill Roisum.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00PM and the pledge of allegiance was led by Chair, Jon Karger.

Brenda Olson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Acknowledgements

School Foundation - Thank you for all the work to help raise money for teachers and programs at our school. Technology Staff - IT Appreciation Day - September 19, 2023

Administrative reports

A. Student School Board Reps Ms. Ellie Welch & Mr. Eduardo Sanchez

B. Finance DirectorC. SuperintendentMr. Rudy MartinezMr. Brian Korf

Greg Larson moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

- A. Approve board minutes August 16, 2023 Regular Meeting
- B. Financial claims August bills
- C. Treasurer's report
- D. Accept Donations

Student Accounts - \$80 - Laura Klimek

Viking Butikk - \$80 - Laura Klimek

OMP Scholarship Fund - \$30 - Lakeland General Store

PRHS Scholarship Fund in Memory of Chuck Berg - \$100 - Class of '94

PRHS Scholarship Fund in Memory of Jack Couture - \$1260 - Anonymous

PRHS Scholarship Fund in Memory of Randy Samp - \$20 - Lisa Petznick

Student Accounts - \$500 - Cormorant Lutheran Church

PRHS Girls Soccer - \$550 - Jon & Linda Grefsrud

Maria Battagia Scholarship Fund - \$500 - Joe & Ann Harmala

E. Personnel

Approve the resignation of Julie Jones as PRHS Custodian

Approve the resignation of Celeste Stoll as Part-time Special Education Paraprofessional at VES

Approve the hire of Alejandra Rivera as PRHS Custodian

Approve the hire of Julia Morsching as PRHS Special Education Paraprofessional

F. Approve the MOU for Doug Bruggeman

The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and the motion was carried with all present members voting in favor.

Staci Allmaras made a motion to approve the Resolution for Safe Routes To School (SRST) Boost Grant.

RESOLUTION FOR SAFE ROUTES TO SCHOOL (SRTS) BOOST GRANT

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) Safe Routes to School Program assists schools and communities by making it safer for children to walk and bike to school; and

WHEREAS, MnDOT Safe Routes to School Program solicits applications to enable schools and communities to implement Safe Route to School non-infrastructure activities; and

WHEREAS, if Pelican Rapids Public Schools District is awarded a SRTS Boost Grant, these funds would be used to provide non-infrastructure activities to local communities to develop Safe Routes to School initiatives that increase safety and encourage more children to walk and bicycle to school; and

WHEREAS, no local match funding is required; and

WHEREAS, SRTS Boost grant activities will commence after the grant agreement is fully executed.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. That Pelican Rapids Public Schools District authorizes the district superintendent to enter into a grant agreement with the Minnesota Department of Transportation for financial assistance to fund a Safe Routes to School Boost Grant and eligible expenses.
- 2. That the district superintendent is authorized to execute such Agreement and any amendment(s).

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and upon a vote being taken the following voted in favor: Molly Welch, Brenda Olson, Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Staci Allmaras, and Greg Larson.

The following voted against: None

Whereupon said resolution was declared duly passed and adopted.

Anne Peterson made a motion to approve the Staff Development Revenue Agreement. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Brenda Olson made a motion to Certify the proposed Tax Levy for the tax year 2023-24 at the maximum amount. The motion was seconded by Molly Welch and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Greg Larson made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Staci Allmaras and carried with all present members voting in favor.

Board Chair	Board Clerk	